## THE DELHI (DELEGATION OF POWERS) ACT, 1964

## ACT NO. 23 OF 1964

[16th June, 1964.]

An Act to provide for the delegation of certain powers vested in the Administrator of the Union territory of Delhi.

BE it enacted by Parliament in the Fifteenth Year of the Republic of India as follows:----

**1.** Short title and extent.—(1) This Act may be called the Delhi (Delegation of Powers) Act, 1964.

(2) It extends to the whole of the Union territory of Delhi.

2. Definitions.—In this Act, unless the context otherwise requires,—

(a) "Administrator" means the Administrator of Delhi appointed by the President under article 239 of the Constitution;

(b) "Chief Secretary" means the Chief Secretary of the Delhi Administration;

(c) "Delhi" means the Union territory of Delhi;

(*d*) "District Judge" means the District Judge, Delhi, and includes an Additional District Judge, Delhi.

3. Delegation of powers, etc., vested in Administrator under certain laws.—(1) Any power, authority or jurisdiction or any duty which the Administrator may exercise or discharge by or under the provisions of any enactment mentioned in column 1 of the Schedule may be exercised or discharged also—

(a) by any officer or authority mentioned in relation thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule;

(b) by such other officer or authority as may be specified in this behalf by the Central Government by notification in the Official Gazette.

(2) The Administrator may transfer any appeal or application for revision or any other matter pending before him for disposal to an officer or other authority competent under sub-section (1) to dispose of the same.

(3) The Administrator may withdraw for disposal by himself any appeal or application for revision or any other matter pending before an officer or other authority competent under sub-section (1) to dispose of the same.

## THE SCHEDULE

(See section 3)	section 3)
-----------------	------------

	Name of enactment	Provisions vesting powers in the Administrator	Officer or authority who may also exercise the powers
	1		2
1.	The Punjab Land Revenue Act, 1887 (Punjab Act 17 of 1887), as in force in Delhi.	Sections 13 and 16	Chief Secretary.
2.	The United Provinces Land Revenue, Act, 1901 (United Provinces Act 3 of 1901), as in force in Delhi.	Sections 210 and 219	Chief Secretary.
3.	The Bengal Finance (Sales Tax) Act, 1941 (Bengal Act 6 of 1941), as in force in Delhi.	Section 20(3)	District Judge.
4.	The Delhi Land Revenue Act, 1954 (Delhi Act 12 of 1954).	Sections 64, 66 and 72	Chief Secretary.
5.	The Slum Areas (Improvement and Clearance) Act, 1956 (96 of 1956).	Section 20	Chief Secretary.